U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

2009 Tribal Youth Program

Award Information

Award #
Congressional District
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)
Original Solicitation

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2009, $249,355)

Part of the Indian Country Law Enforcement Initiative, a joint initiative of DOJ and the U.S. Department of the Interior to improve law enforcement and the administration of criminal and juvenile justice in Indian country, OJJDP's Tribal Youth Program (TYP) supports and enhances tribal efforts to prevent and control delinquency and strengthen the juvenile justice system for American Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) youth. This program is authorized by the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974, as amended and the Department of Justice Appropriations Act, 2009, Pub. L. 111-8.

The Reno-Sparks Indian Colony (RSIC) is a Federally Recognized Indian Tribe, listed in the Federal Register. The Reno Sparks Tribal Council passed Resolution # 2009-41 on May 27, 2009, in support of this application which is included in the attachments. This program will provide prevention services to impact risk factors for delinquency, including risk factor identification, anti-gang education, truancy prevention, school drop out prevention and improve the tribal juvenile justice system through development and implementation of a tribal youth court. It will also improve the tribal juvenile justice system including tribal youth courts. The project anticipates increasing the Tribal Court's involvement with at least 50 Juveniles and their families by active involvement of the Attendance/Juvenile Probation Officer. It also plans to address juvenile crime and victimization by supporting effective programs and practices such as a Peer Court.

The project is located in Reno-Sparks Indian Colony in Hungry Valley, Nevada. The Tribal Court located at 1900 Prosperity, Reno, Nevada will serve 200 juveniles out of 305 eligible from 5-17 years of age. A Chairman and six (8) member Tribal Council are elected to serve as the governing body. The Chairman is elected to a 4-year term and Tribal Council members are elected to a 4-year staggered terms.

Date Created: September 16, 2009